Registration for the 17th edition is officially open!

The registration period has started and the case has been published!

Who are the participants?

Teams participating in the competition shall consist of 2 to 4 law students, who are enrolled at a university or law faculty accredited under national law to grant a degree that permits its graduates to enter any legal profession. Every team is allowed to register up to 2 coaches. We accept one team per university.

Who is in charge of the academic quality?

Academic Board

ELSA is pleased to present the following distinguished WTO law academics as members of the 16th edition of the Academic Board.

Dr. Carlo Gamberale

Ms. Daniela Gomez Altamirano

Dr. Dylan Geraets

Dr. Federico Ortino

Mr. Claude Chase

Dr. Gracia Marin-Duran

Prof. Henry Gao

Dr. Jan-Yves Remy

Dr. Tommaso Soave

Ms. Illaria Accorsi

Ms. Marisa Goldstein

Ms. Maria Alcover

Mr. Markus Wagner

Dr. Pinar Artiran

Prof. Padideh Ala’i

Mr. Santiago Wills

Dr. Theresa Carpenter

Dr. James J. Nedumpara

Dr. Vitaliy Pogoretskyy


The Panel consists of world trade law experts willing to be active at the hearings. They are appointed by ELSA with the supervision of the Academic Board of the competition.

How much does the participation cost?

There are 2 different fees, a registration fee and a participation fee. In addition to that, teams have to bear the costs for the bank transfers.

  • Registration fee

    All teams have to pay a registration fee of 250 Euro to ELSA. All the teams will receive from ELSA a team confirmation email and an invoice after the registration deadline.

  • Participation fee for Regional Rounds

    This is a separate fee, which is issued by the respective Regional Round Organizer after the registration deadline. The Regional Round participation fee covers accommodation and food provided for the participants during the round.

  • Participation fee for Final Oral Round

    The teams who advance to the Final Oral Round in Geneva will also have to pay a participation fee for Final Oral Round. The fee is 700 Euro for the whole team. In addition to that, each coach has to pay 150 Euro. Please keep in mind that the fees for the Final Oral Round might be lowered later on. Such a change will be announced here.

Competition materials.